COLT HBAR for a newbie
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > COLT HBAR for a newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008, 04:39 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default COLT HBAR for a newbie

Hello All,
New to the forum. New to rifles (a handgun guy). New to AR's Need some advice. Always wanted an AR. Didnt realize I can have one being in the Republic of NJ.
Not a hunter, just for target & eventually competition.
Visited a local gun store. He just got in a Colt Competion Target HBAR with a 16'' barrel & a detachable handle with adjustable sights, no flash & no telescopic stock. NJ Legal. Said he thinks its about 5-6 years old. The rifle looked very well maintained & clean all around. He said he would take $850 for it.
Now mind you I am totally new to AR's.
Is this a reasonable price for it?
Should I just get a new Busmaster, Stag or RRA?
Is a 16'' legal in any competition? It must be if its in a Competition Rifle..no?
Am I limited to COLT only accesories. Heard a lot of Colt rifles are very particular about mating to other parts.
Thanks for any input you can give to this newbie

Last edited by ah141nj; 07-25-2008 at 04:44 PM. Reason: spelling error

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-25-2008, 05:02 PM   #2

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3479 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590

Boy - That is a can of worms you just opened. Get ready for information overload... LOL