Colt AR-15 A2 sporter 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Colt AR-15 A2 sporter 2

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2010, 01:14 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Colt AR-15 A2 sporter 2

This is my first time on this site. Thanks for your help. I have the same AR that I bought slightly used in 1985. I remember I paid $400 that included 250rounds, 2-20 round mags and 3-30 rounders. For the first couple of years I shot it a lot but overall it really hasn't had a great deal of rounds through it. It has always been kept clean. My friend bought a new AR, so we went to the range. My rifle started shooting bursts of 3 to four rounds. Although it was cool I can not tolerate this illegal behavior from my rifle. The rifle is stone stock. I plan to replace the fire control group and all of the springs. I have learned that there may be different pin sizes for older ARs. Any ideas what could be causing this malfunction and recommendations for a fix. Thanks

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-21-2010, 01:45 AM   #2

Liked 1026 Times on 722 Posts
Likes Given: 1023

It sounds like you've already got a good idea what's wrong. Like you said it's annoying that Colt uses different pin sizes .170" instead of .154" but at least they are common parts that you can buy.