Clunky trigger reset after limited field strip

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Clunky trigger reset after limited field strip

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Clunky trigger reset after limited field strip

I have a Rock River, and recently broke the gun open clean it. I removed the BCG and charging handle. as well as the buffer & spring, but did not mess with the trigger group.

After reassembly I noticed that the trigger reset seems noticeable clunkier than it was previously. Gun still cycles, trigger pull seems to be the same, but when I keep the trigger pulled to the rear and cycle the action, once I let the trigger out it seems to reset harder, and makes a noise I can only describe as clunky.

Thoughts, comments, concerns? I'm new to the AR, and just want to make sure it isn't something easy before I take it to get it looked at. If there was a rookie mistake to be made, mention it, because I probably made it.

Thanks

I don't make jokes, I just watch the government and report the facts. -Will Rogers

An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will eat him last. -Winston Churchill

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-29-2011, 03:22 PM   #2

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Im sure someone will correct me if im wrong but it sounds like your rifle is doing exactly what it is supposed to do. I just built my lower and that was one of the function tests required to make sure the disconnector is doing its job.