Chrome & Barrel Rifling?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Chrome & Barrel Rifling?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 01:51 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 74 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default Chrome & Barrel Rifling?

I know about the ease of cleaning and durability of chrome lining of barrels. My question is, whether the manufacturer, over sizes the barrel bore before they button rifle it, to allow for chrome thickness?
Or, they just apply the chrome in the bore of a standard barrel, and chrome builds up on the grooves/landings and leaves less rifling, and that's why accuracy is supposably affected with a chrome lined barrel. I'm new to AR's but still learning.
Del

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-10-2012, 03:58 PM   #2

Liked 2501 Times on 1626 Posts

Tried Google? I would think they would have to oversized before chroming. The chrome is going to be be at least a couple thousands of an inch thick, multiply times two and the pressures would be too high from the tight bore.

Feral cat waterboarder

Old 10-10-2012, 04:12 PM   #3

Liked 84 Times on 61 Posts

I had heard from some gentleman who are much wiser than I that they slightly over size it to compensate for the chrome, thus why some say that they are less accurate than non cl. Is this true? Some will agree and others won't

Old 10-10-2012, 06:10 PM   #4

Liked 2501 Times on 1626 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bige91603