Changing my Ar hand guard
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Changing my Ar hand guard

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2014, 08:39 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Changing my Ar hand guard

I have a Windham weaponry scr ar15 it has the standard hand guard and I am wanting to change it to a magpul one. My question is which one do I get and how hard is it to install? I have no experience working on uppers. What kind of tools do I need I would prefer not to have a gunsmith do it the only one around told me he will charge me $75 to change it and I would like to learn how to do it myself. imageuploadedbyfirearms-talk1397248658.606690.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-11-2014, 08:54 PM   #2
hmh

Liked 148 Times on 102 Posts

First off if the new one isn't a free float that gun smith/shop is a total rip off. The handguard removal tool makes it easier but isn't necessary. Push the delta ring down and pull the handguard off if the new ones don't have the metal shield remove it from your old ones and put it in the new ones. If the new one is free float then you have to get a little serious.

Old 04-11-2014, 09:02 PM   #3

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Is the one I have considered a mid length or carbine length? And it's not free a free float. The pic is the one I want. imageuploadedbyfirearms-talk1397250113.849670.jpg

Old 04-11-2014, 09:03 PM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1216 Times on 683 Posts
Likes Given: 513

U tube is a great resource.