Chamber wont stay open

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Chamber wont stay open

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 11:25 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Chamber wont stay open

Ey guys
Recent acquired a stag lower and cmmg upper. Today was the first time I cleaned it.
After putting it all back together, I pulled the charging handle back, but the chamber wouldn't stay open. If there's an empty mag in, it will stay open.
I could swear it stayed open before without a mag.
Yes, I'm a newb, so any help would be great...
Thanks

image-3267919599.jpg

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-26-2012, 11:27 PM   #2

Liked 862 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 1

There should be a bolt lock on the other side of the reciever.

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

Old 03-26-2012, 11:31 PM   #3

Liked 5007 Times on 2428 Posts
Likes Given: 1601

Did you try pressing the mag hold open on the port side as you pulled the charging handle to the rear?

That large button is the mag release but whole unit is a lever. Pressing the top while the bolt is open releases the bolt. Pressing and holding the smaller, lower piece, activates the bolt catch.

This is why it locks open on an empty mag. The magazines follower bumps the hold open "internally" so it catches and retains the bolt in the open position.

And don't worry about the question. The only dumb ones are the ones you DON'T ask.

Tack

Old 03-26-2012, 11:34 PM   #4