Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Bushmaster (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/bushmaster-12062/)

pennyc 03-21-2009 02:47 AM

Bushmaster

I'm fairly new to guns and especially ARs. i just bought a bushmaster for my hubby 2 weeks ago. we love it. it's beautiful.

the book says that you are supposed to only use winchester bullets. winchester is hard to find in these parts but i can find plenty of remington and wolf. i'm also looking to stock pile and would like to buy in bulk. I'm not a nut, but if the threat of a 300% tax is on the horizon, i'll buy now save later! :p anyway, i was wondering is winchester the parent company of bushmaster or vice versa? are they "persuasively suggesting" you use their ammo because they are in kahoots with winchester? or is winchester built a specific way that it is special to the bushmaster?

thanks for any help you can offer.

Penny 31 New Orleans, LA

Dillinger 03-21-2009 03:03 AM

Penny - Stay away from Wolf unless you have the ability to THOROUGHLY clean the the action/chamber extensively because of the lacquer coating...

Outside of that - what is the rifle chambered for? 5.56Nato? or .223 Civilian? because they are not the same chamber, and accuracy can suffer...

In any event, you DO NOT need to use exclusively one type of ammo. A good AR will run with just about anything you feed it, including Salt lake City Depot, where the military makes their stuff. :D ( If you got the 5.56mm chamber )

JD

pennyc 03-21-2009 03:10 AM

it's chambered for .223