Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   The build has begun! (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/build-has-begun-78195/)

monteros 12-10-2012 11:49 PM

The build has begun!

1 Attachment(s)
How freaking exciting! I have been researching for around 2 months now, and getting more and more excited. I have never owned an AR and decided that I wanted to understand the gun inside and out, so I opted to build it.

Totally worth it.

I found an FFL near me about a month ago, and he was able to get me a Rock River Arms 5.56 lower. Shortly thereafter I ordered my roll pin punch set and a crosstac armorers block. I have been staring at it thinking about getting started on the build, and the lower parts kit and grip finally arived tonight.

So, I broke out the punches, and after watching so many youtube's on building the lower, and reading, I put everything together that I could since I don't have the trigger group yet, nor the buffer, stock and spring. It was almost like second nature hehe, aside from having to review the bolt catch spring and plunger setup :cool:

One step at a time!

Even still, knowing I have a ways to go, I am really fired up about this, and damn proud! Did I mention excited!?! hehe.

Have a look...

Quentin 12-10-2012 11:56 PM

You're the type of guy we love to hear from, monteros! Lots of research and then careful attention to the build. Get a good upper and you're home free!

... Until the next build... :D

monteros 12-11-2012 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quentin (Post 1047098)
You're the type of guy we love to hear from, monteros! Lots of research and then careful attention to the build. Get a good upper and you're home free!

... Until the next build... :D