Build or buy upper??? - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Build or buy upper???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 10:33 PM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2919 Times on 1718 Posts

If you can build the lower you can do the upper. It's not like you have to headspace it or anything. It's easy.

Old 11-23-2012, 11:36 PM   #12
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 80 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottA
I'm working on my first lower build (No, the Plum Crazy didn't break. Just wanting to build one.)

I'm fairly new to AR's (about 11 months). I'm more comfortable with building the lower right now than I am the upper. I would recommend build the lower first and see if you want to start building the upper, or buy the upper and get to shooting.
Yes I am definitely building the lower myself

Old 11-23-2012, 11:37 PM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainman13
If you can build the lower you can do the upper. It's not like you have to headspace it or anything. It's easy.
What would be an example of a build that requires you to check the headspacing? Just curious

Old 11-23-2012, 11:47 PM   #14
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2919 Times on 1718 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaiePoi

What would be an example of a build that requires you to check the headspacing? Just curious
Just about any other rifle where you have to attach the barrel. On an AR it is set when they manufacture the barrel.

Old 11-24-2012, 01:35 AM   #15
Welcoming Committee/ Resident Pellet Gunner
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 626 Times on 477 Posts
Likes Given: 1111

I would build the upper, gives you more options to choose from.

[COLOR="Blue"]See my pellet guns here: http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/groups/ftf%20pellet%20gunners/air%20gun%20picture%20thread-149/