Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Build 2, shopping for uppers, opinions wanted

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 02:56 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieKiller83
I gotta say Tikki, your advice is always solid and to the point and i dig that about ya. The current rifle i have is a 16" BCM LW midlength, hammer forged, 1:7 with a red dot set-up. I thought about free floating it but one thing i've learned in my profession is, if it works and works well, don't screw with it haha. That rifle shoots 1 moa groups at 100 yds with a standard milspec trigger so yeah i'm keeping her as is

My whole idea with this rifle is to blow my tax return on a solid, free floated ar with a scope for some longer distance shooting fun. My current rifle can no doubt connect at longer ranges (shot it out to 200 yds at a human silhouette target. five shots all hits but the grouping was nothing to brag about not that i really care as a hits a hit IMO ). Any who just dont feel like swapping between scopes and constantly having to re-zero so figure what the hell, tax time rifle build.
You could get a Larue QD mount for the scope and not have to worry about rezeroing each time

“The bitterness of poor quality Lingers long after The sweetness of low price is forgotten.”
-John Ruskin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
"The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together."

Old 02-18-2012, 03:47 AM   #12

Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
You could get a Larue QD mount for the scope and not have to worry about rezeroing each time
+1 on MJ. LaRue's are super nice, and really consistent. Expensive but worth it.

If you can manage 3" groups at 300 yards consitently, I'd say you'd be ready to upgrade your gear.