Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Buffer, Tube and Stock? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/buffer-tube-stock-78405/)

monteros 12-14-2012 01:35 AM

Buffer, Tube and Stock?

Hey folks,

My build is progressing, and I am getting ready to purchase my buffer, buffer tube and stock. I have read a bunch, watched a bunch etc, and basically from what I have seen, the jury is still out on "if" one needs to get a mil-spec tube and buffer... I am inclined to just get it to have the peace of mind regarding quality etc.

That being said, I am open to your thoughts and opinions.

What I am looking for are recommendations for me to either research or buy for the tail end of this lower build.

Keep in mind, it's my first build, the intended uses for this rifle are as follows:
1. SHTF & Home Defense
2. Plinking and Range time with the family and friends
3. Tactical training and our course work
4. maybe more? ... hehe

Thank you as always for any thoughts and pointers! This is clearly part of my advancing severe case of BRD... just say'in.

TankTop 12-14-2012 02:10 AM

I just researched to the point of analysis paralysis and finally ordered from Bravo Company. I think others will back me up here that going with Bravo Company will guarantee you the very best in quality, fast shipping and standard pricing (hey two out of three ain't bad). Without looking it up, I think your looking at about $130 for a complete kit with a CTR stock with shipping, price may go up depending on buffer weight. You could shop around and save $10 and possibly get lower quality or much slower shipping, I vote for top rate quality and getting it this year for the extra $10, but it's your call.

monteros 12-14-2012 02:52 AM