Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Budget HBAR AR-15 build options (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/budget-hbar-ar-15-build-options-29151/)

Jedi940 07-09-2010 02:48 PM

Budget HBAR AR-15 build options

First post; First AR-15

I am looking to start building my first AR-15. and am trying to keep the budget under $800. I know exactly what I want and am just trying to find the right combination of parts that will produce a decent quality gun.

For the Lower I have a source for a bushmaster stripped lower for $50 and I am going with a Rock River National Match lower parts kit for $130 and a commercial spec collapsible stock by DSA for $50.

For the upper, I want a heavy barrel. No M4 profile. I do not like how thin it gets under the handguard. Additionally, I don't want the A2 front sight. I just want a rail so I can add flip up sights that won't interfere with any optics. A railed handguard is not not necessary. I just plan on buying a short section of rail from brownells and mounting it on the side of the handguard for a tactical light. The only upper I have found that meets this criteria is a Del-Ton upper HERE

It has the heavy barrel, railed gas block with YHM sight already included for $425. I read alot of people recommending spikes tactical but it seems that all their uppers come with the A2 front sight.

Are there any other options that I am missing?

***EDIT***
Also I forgot to mention that I want a 16" barrel. Also, if there is a big advantage to accuracy, I may be convinced to go with a free float front end. Was trying to stay away from it to keep the weight down since I already have a heavy barrel.

mjkeat 07-10-2010 04:27 AM