Bolt Carrier Group Discussion
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Bolt Carrier Group Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2013, 04:17 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 714 Times on 431 Posts
Likes Given: 860

Default Bolt Carrier Group Discussion

I have a Bushmaster AR-15, I have it in the A2 configuration, part
sentimentality and part it fits me well like in that configuration, that or a few
Gunny’s beat me into submission. Mostly, I shoot service rifle matches with
it as well as some coyote control; and it is one of my SHTF rifles, should that
need arise. I have been wearing out gas rings between 3,000 and 4,000
rounds, and that seems more frequent than it should be. Any thoughts on
that would be appreciated. I was thinking of an upgrade to a new bolt
carrier group (BCG). Reliability and longevity are my key aspects that I
want in a replacement/upgrade. Several that have come to the top of the
list are:

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-Bolt-Carrier-Group-MPI-Auto-M16-p/bcm%20bolt%20carrier%20group%20auto%20mp.htm

http://www.brownells.com/rifle-parts/bolt-parts/bolt-carrier-parts/bolt-carriers/jpbc-2a-full-mass-bolt-carrier-sku452000130-45574-102057.aspx

http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?item=XDADBCG10016&name=AR15%2fM16+.22 3%2f5.56+Bolt+Carrier+Group&groupid=723

I am not married to any of the options above, they are just what I have
found researching the internet and those that had good reviews. Price is
always a consideration, but it is not a primary. Reliability and longevity are
primary. Price is flexible as long as the value is there.

All ideas and comments are welcome.

"I am prepared are you?" -- Shade

"Regulation, registration, confiscation, domination, that's the Progressive agenda." -- RED Caddy

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!