Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   BCM Build questions (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/bcm-build-questions-68741/)

Wi_Hunter556 07-23-2012 12:11 AM

BCM Build questions

Alright, I've been really curious about the BCMs for quite some time now. I don't have the money to throw out there to order a complete rifle but would the prices vary much by building a rifle piece by piece? I've been wanting to save for an optic but with the way its looking for gun control lately I'm pondering about just buying uppers/lowers whenever I have the cash to do so.

I'm a poor recently HS graduate that ships for basic in november.

What's are ya'lls opinions?

okdonk 07-23-2012 12:21 AM

BCM is one of the best brands out there. Many users here love BCM. Yes building it sometimes is definitely cheaper but some parts are hard to get. Patience is necessary ;). The most important of building, you gain knowledge of the rifle itself inside and outside.
Check out other top brands like DD, Noveske and Spike's.

If you are on a budget, check out PSA. Great products with great prices.

JonM 07-23-2012 12:21 AM

if your going to piece em together your going to have to be very careful of shipping costs when ordering various subcomponents. the margin between buying and building is not all that great and can be easily overcome by poor shopping choices as shipping can be pricey.

Wi_Hunter556 07-23-2012 12:33 AM

well atm im thinking when i get back to WI, im going to order a complete lower...then order the 14.5 middy....and then the bolt, charging handle, and furniture after that. i wish i had the cash to order everything at once, but that aint happenin.

and i do realize the shipping issure, it smart to order things together and not piece by piece...at 15-20 bucks a pop for shipping single parts, that will add up quick