AR15 Newbie here...
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR15 Newbie here...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2014, 10:53 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 27 Times on 19 Posts

Default AR15 Newbie here...

I've never owned an AR platform, but lately my father and I have been talking about going half/half on one, to make it cheaper, and either of us could take it to the range whenever. I entertained the possibility of me building it, because I enjoy doing detailed disassemblies of other guns. Would you say it'd be a realistic idea?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-07-2014, 11:03 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1217 Times on 684 Posts
Likes Given: 513

Can you assemble an AR, yes you likely can read and follow instructions and be successful.

The most recommended route is purchase a stripped lower receiver and install a parts kit, trigger, stock set, etc of your choice.

The purchase an assembled upper receiver built to your specifications from someone like:

Bravo Company Manufacturing - ranges from upper to top tier choices. A BCM is a recognized brand that will retain value.

Palmetto State Armory - ranges from budget to upper tier choices. Good value to cost ratio and a brand people are growing more familiar with.

Their are others, too many to list them all.

The highest end choices have names like Noveske, LaRue, LWRC, but I cannot justify their cost.

Old 06-07-2014, 11:23 AM   #3

Liked 64 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 8