AR15 build, any advice?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR15 build, any advice?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 07:59 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default AR15 build, any advice?

I'm new to the semi auto build and this year I want to build a few ar's, if you guys would stop buying all the parts . For the first one I have a complete CMMG lower, and a DPMS stainless upper without the internals. Now, some people tell me you can just slap the upper to the lower and you are good to go while others tell me I need to take it to a gun smith and have it head spaced (?). I have a carrier assembly that came out of an Armilite ar that I was going to use.

I'll do some searching on this site, but until then I was hoping you guys could educate me on the complete build concept and explain some of the do's and don'ts involved in these builds.

Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1198 Times on 669 Posts
Likes Given: 499

Quote:
Originally Posted by rembrant88 View Post
For the first one I have a complete CMMG lower, and a DPMS stainless upper without the internals. Now, some people tell me you can just slap the upper to the lower and you are good to go while others tell me I need to take it to a gun smith and have it head spaced (?). I have a carrier assembly that came out of an Armilite ar that I was going to use.
Probably a good investment to have the head spacing checked on the upper.