AR take down pin replacement

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR take down pin replacement

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 107

Default AR take down pin replacement

I'm new to AR's though not to guns and shooting in general. That being said I now have an M&P-15. I bought it just before the craziness began last month along with a Bushmaster complete upper in a different caliber as a Christmas present for myself. I would like to replace the original take down pins with the quick release type as it should be quicker and less trouble using the QR pins when I want to swap uppers on the gun or clean it. However, I can't figure out how to remove the old pins. I push the pins through until the upper tilts out, but the pins simply stop and lock when they become flush with the inside of the lower receiver. I would suspect there is something in the pin's grove that prevents the pin from coming out but can't figure out where/what it is. Is there a "trick" to removing a pin completely? Any help would be appreciated!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-20-2013, 10:31 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1198 Times on 669 Posts
Likes Given: 498

My Brownells AR15 critical tool pack included one of these:

M16 Pivot Pin Detent Depressor
Click Here to view 'Inst-275 Pivot Pin Depressor.pdf'.

BROWNELLS - AR-15/M16 CRITICAL TOOLS KIT

Made in the U.S.A.
100% Satisfaction. Lifetime Returns.

Old 01-20-2013, 01:11 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png