Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   AR take down pin replacement (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/ar-take-down-pin-replacement-81900/)

rachilders 01-20-2013 10:17 AM

AR take down pin replacement

I'm new to AR's though not to guns and shooting in general. That being said I now have an M&P-15. I bought it just before the craziness began last month along with a Bushmaster complete upper in a different caliber as a Christmas present for myself. I would like to replace the original take down pins with the quick release type as it should be quicker and less trouble using the QR pins when I want to swap uppers on the gun or clean it. However, I can't figure out how to remove the old pins. I push the pins through until the upper tilts out, but the pins simply stop and lock when they become flush with the inside of the lower receiver. I would suspect there is something in the pin's grove that prevents the pin from coming out but can't figure out where/what it is. Is there a "trick" to removing a pin completely? Any help would be appreciated! :confused:

Gatoragn 01-20-2013 11:31 AM

My Brownells AR15 critical tool pack included one of these:

M16 Pivot Pin Detent Depressor
Click Here to view 'Inst-275 Pivot Pin Depressor.pdf'.

BROWNELLS - AR-15/M16 CRITICAL TOOLS KIT

Made in the U.S.A.
100% Satisfaction. Lifetime Returns.

jjfuller1 01-20-2013 02:11 PM

Well to answer your question yes. There is a small pin in that groove and the spring under it in the lower. It would probly be the easiest for you to get a good set of building instructions for you to get a good visual. Also I can't see why you need to change them out. It really only takes a few seconds to change uppers. I just can't se where it's cost and time effective to switch pins

jjfuller1 01-20-2013 02:14 PM