Ar for hunting/plinking
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Ar for hunting/plinking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 03:22 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Ar for hunting/plinking

Getting ready to build an AR, going to use it for hunting and plinking. I'm new to guns. Can anyone recommend uppers, lowers, stocks, barrel, trigger, etc that would be ideal for such an Ar-15/mix. If someone could lead me towards sites where I could find these. I like good quality new or used. Thanks so much in advance!!!!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-21-2011, 05:49 AM   #2

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

upper/lower - Daniel Defense, Palmetto, Spikes, BCM,

stock - Magpul CTR or MOE, VLTOR is good as well

barrel - Noveske, Daniel Defence, BCM, White Oaks Armament, Ranier Arms

trigger - Timmney, Geiselle (spelling)

Old 11-21-2011, 06:12 AM   #3

Liked 1069 Times on 752 Posts
Likes Given: 1073

What's your budget? Also hunting/plinking is nebulous. Can you add to that? Distance, what type of game, caliber, barrel profile and length, etc.... You need to give this some thought because there are thousands of AR configurations. The more thought you put into this the better chance that a year down the road you'll still be happy with your purchase.

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Old 11-21-2011, 06:59 AM   #4