AR build
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 188 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default AR build

Hey everyone, i don't really know much about building an AR15. I have skimmed through some of the stickies and I could say I partially understand the parts needed, though I am FAR from an expert, still very much a n00b at this. Correct me if I am wrong but from what I understand you need to have a lower receiver, a trigger assembly, an upper receiver, a barrel, and whichever sights you prefer. I found a website that sells everything you need but a lower receiver, and i wanted to check it out with you guys to see if its a crap deal/incomplete or not even what I am looking for.

Here's a link http://www.ar15-kits.com/index1.html the one I'm looking at is the fourth down on the right, the M-4 style 16" rifle.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-04-2012, 07:41 PM   #2

Liked 1060 Times on 746 Posts
Likes Given: 1060

First you need to tell us what you plan to do with the AR and what your budget is. The right rifle for me isn't necessarily right for you. Don't be in a hurry, read and learn before pulling out the credit card.

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Old 06-04-2012, 08:09 PM   #3

Liked 40 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 25