You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion >

AR-15 NOOB here

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 08:40 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default AR-15 NOOB here

AS you can tell I am an AR NOOB and wanted to know what is better "clean" ammo the 223 rem or 5.56 NATO? Also what are the differences I should look out for? My local dealer is horrible to talk to and folks at the range don't want to offer advice! Thanks and apologies for the naive questions. Your help is much appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-24-2012, 08:46 PM   #2

Liked 362 Times on 225 Posts
Likes Given: 167

The primary difference between .223 Remington and 5.56 x 45 mm is that .223 is loaded to lower pressures and velocities compared to 5.56 mm. .223 Remington ammunition can be safely fired in a 5.56 mm chambered gun, but the reverse can be an unsafe combination. The additional pressure created by 5.56 mm ammo will frequently cause over-pressure problems such as difficult extraction, flowing brass, or popped primers, but in extreme cases, could damage or destroy the rifle. Chambers cut to .223 Remington specifications have a shorter (throat) area as well as slightly shorter headspace dimensions compared to 5.56 mm "military" chamber specs, which contributes to the pressure issues. If you are looking for an AR there are a huge number of options. What is your price range?

Member: