AR-15 in New York
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR-15 in New York

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2009, 01:36 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default AR-15 in New York

I'm new to the AR-15 field. I can't find any used AR's on the market and will have to order one. Can anybody tell me which ones are legal in the state of New york for civilians to buy. I see the Colt LE6920 on some of the different websites I've read. Would this be legal for me to purchase if I would be lucky enough to find one? what if any of the colts would be legal? thanks for any help

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-24-2009, 03:00 AM   #2

Liked 3737 Times on 1825 Posts
Likes Given: 13270

Hello Mustang, welcome to the forum.

I just went through the same this past fall. I spent almost 4 months looking and researching before I even settled on what to go after. Then it took almost 2 more months to find what I wanted at reasonable enough prices. Check out the classifieds/vendors on here as well as,

AR15.Com
GunBroker.com Online Gun Auction

What I have found out is to own an AR15 in NY,

There is a difference in the regulations for Pre-Ban and Post-Ban rifles. A pre-ban rifle is one that was manufactured prior to the 1994 Assault Weapons Ban. A post-ban is one manufactured after the 94' AWB. The major differences are,

1. Bayonet mounts - pre-ban rifles can have bayonet mounts. Post-ban rifles cannot.