Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR-15 Lower Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 10:21 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default AR-15 Lower Advice

I'm totally new to AR-15's. Along with about 1,482,548 other FNGs I've been thinking about getting a stripped lower and starting my own build. As much as anything else seems like it would be a fun project and a good learning experience.

I've found a place that has S&W M&P-15 stripped lowers for $180. I don't see too many people talking about using this lower. Any opinions about it good, bad or indifferent?

Thanks.

Dave

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-17-2009, 10:33 PM   #2

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3475 Times on 1607 Posts
Likes Given: 3590

Quote:
Along with about 1,482,548 other FNGs
Okay, that had me laughing out loud....

I had said it dozens of times, and I guess once more won't hurt ( ) -

A receiver is a receiver is a receiver is a receiver. Unless you are getting some piece of third world pot metal crap than you can change tolerances merely by pressing hard with your fingers, IT DOESN'T MATTER whose name is on the side.

At this point in time, if you can find ANY stripped lower and YOU are comfortable with the price, I would urge you to buy it before someone else does and get the lower on the books.