Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR-15 DI vs. Piston

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 09:24 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I hear you on that, I will have to make a parts list I guess and do the math.

Let me run this by everyone for quality brands. This is what I've come up with as name brands. Stag, Bravo, Colt, Palmetto, RRA, and LMT. So after all my time reading threads, if I stick with these brands, I should have a quality gun right?

I've been looking at guns and was at a gun show in Dallas and come across a brand called SOG armory. Now like I said I'm a newb to AR platform but these looked like nice guns. Has anyone heard of this brand or is this one I should forget and stick with the names I mentioned earlier.

Old 01-10-2012, 09:36 PM   #12
Supporting Member

Liked 1795 Times on 921 Posts
Likes Given: 971

Okie,

Let us put your mind to rest regarding cleaning supplies.
We have spoke about an excellent AR Lubricant here on the FTF in the past. I will give you the formula that I use and we have used at the State Academy for the AR Patrol Rifle Instructor Certification Course for the past 10+ years. You may chuckle, but it is simple and some of the best AR and M-16 Lube you could ever want.
First go to Wal-Mart or an RC Airplane/Car Shop and get one of the red plastic containers you put RC Fuel in or a 2 Cycle Gas container at Wal-Mart. All it needs to hold is a quart and a half!
Here is the formula:

1 Quart of Mobile One Synthetic 15W50 Motor Oil
1/2 Quart of Mobile One Synthetic Transmission Fluid