AR-15 DI vs. Piston
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR-15 DI vs. Piston

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 04:01 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default AR-15 DI vs. Piston

Alright guys I've been reading every thread I can find on this subject. I am either going to buy a AR already complete or try to put it together my self. Problem is I'm a complete newb to the AR platform. So bear with me please.

I was wondering if anybody has a piston driven riffle AR and are they happy with it? Any problems? Any regrets?

I going to use this gun or guns to try to protect my family and property if the SHTF. My concern is what if gun oil becomes hard to find, it's my understanding the standard AR needs to be ran wet and cleaned often. I don't know if you have to oil it before each use if you have not fired it after a period of time in a vault.

Any one that want to straighten me out please do so. I just am a little worried about accessibility of supplies if I run out.

Thanks in advance guys.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-10-2012, 04:15 PM   #2

Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

If gun oil gets hard to find for your DI, pull a dipstick out of your engine and use the oil on the end to coat your bcg.

I'd only recommend a piston if
1) you anticipate storming the beaches of Normandie.
2) you like doing 100+ rounds mag dumps...often.
3) you don't mind waiting if you ever need replacement parts.

Old 01-10-2012, 05:04 PM   #3

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts