AR-15 brand new, how to?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > AR-15 brand new, how to?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 05:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default AR-15 brand new, how to?

Just picked up my brand new ar it's a spikes tactical I'm in love now I need canebrake to make me a list like he did with my new 1911 do's and dont's how to clean what to use and when to clean for the first time!
Thank you everyone for your support I'm new to guns but you guys have made my welcome well worth this awesome hobby and passion of mine!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-18-2011, 02:35 PM   #2

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

A list?

Run a bore snake through it and get at it. You're shooting an AR.

Old 10-18-2011, 03:01 PM   #3

Here's some pics on AR15 Lube points.

Old 10-18-2011, 03:13 PM   #4

Liked 1419 Times on 808 Posts
Likes Given: 1290

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
A list?

Run a bore snake through it and get at it. You're shooting an AR.
+1

I'm with mjkeat, it's new. Make sure the bore is free of any manufacturing crap or shipping protection and get 'er dirty!

Bushman provided a great visual to assist you in lubing your AR.

Remember this is NOT a brake-in, its a new gun test to find any issues that will require the gun to be returned to the manufacture for repair.

Don't change anything on the gun until this NGT (new gun test) is complete and you have found it free of any issues. Shoot ~500 rounds to satisfy the weapon's reliability.