Any Ruger SR556 carbine owners out there?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Any Ruger SR556 carbine owners out there?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 03:45 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Any Ruger SR556 carbine owners out there?

This is my first post on the forum and I'm brand new to AR-15s, so please go easy on me

I'm looking to purchase my first AR-15 and saw the Ruger SR 556 at the local shop. I was wondering if any of you own this model, and if so, what feedback you have on it.

I'm primarily looking for a quality weapon that is both reliable and accurate. I don't do competition shooting, but would like something that's both fun to shoot as well as good in a SHTF scenario.

I've looking to invest $3,500 or less for both a rifle and a sight. So far, EOTech has caught my eye on the sight side of things, so I'm planning on a decent chunk of that going to the sight.

If anyone has other suggestions for makes/models in this range, I'm certainly open to the input.

Thanks in advance - glad to be here!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-09-2012, 03:50 AM   #2
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2917 Times on 1718 Posts

Welcome to FTF. Good pick on the optic. Be prepared for a lot of suggestions.

I don't need No stinking signature.

Old 05-09-2012, 04:25 AM   #3

Liked 1067 Times on 750 Posts
Likes Given: 1063

Wow that's a nice budget. I'd skip the Ruger though, you can get much better. Are you sold on a piston AR?

______