Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Adding a laser (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/adding-laser-64708/)

connectegr 05-18-2012 03:08 AM

Adding a laser

What are the practical reasons to add a laser? Are there any?

I already have a red dot scope, with no magnification. I have never used a laser on my handgun, but I am considering it for my AR.

MikeJK 05-18-2012 03:15 AM

I was watching a guy running a green laser over the better part of a day. We were shooting 80yards and in. The laser seemed to be a detriment for him. Most of the time it mas moving around so much it couldn't be seen on a white steel silhouette. IR lasers are helpful at night but I have no personal experience w/ a visible laser being an enhancement over a RDS on an AR.

JonM 05-18-2012 03:29 AM

My experience is lasers from miles gear is visible with nvd sights. Draws a line right back to the user. If there is dust or smoke its a giveaway.

From a shooter perspective you spend too much time looking for a dot. An rds or illuminated/nonilluminated xhair scope or acog or eotech are the way to go. Even good ole iron sights are better than a laser.

AgentTikki 05-18-2012 03:38 AM

Practice pratice practice. Then get urself a cheap $50 laser and see if it makes you any better. Then try and sell that pos or give it away because you will fin out that it make you slower.

I do have a laser, its awesome for dry fire practice. If you flinch it will show you, can't hide it from a laser.

JonM 05-18-2012 03:44 AM

Oh there are lasers that work with nvd's that shoot a visible beam for the shooter or whomever wearing nvd that make it very fast to run and and gun in the dark. But that stuff isnt cheap. Just a good set of nvd runs 2000 or more and is only usuable in certain conditions and close range.

MikeJK 05-18-2012 05:15 AM