Added Weight
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Added Weight

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2007, 04:51 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Added Weight

I have a Bushmaster XM15carbine and I'm thinking about adding a railed handguard. Most likely a non free floating type. I was wondering if those of you who have added them to your rifle have noticed a weight difference? If so, how much of a weight difference?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-07-2007, 09:49 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

The added weight of the railed handguard is not noticeable. Its all the gadgets you add to those rails that make the difference .

Old 06-10-2007, 06:15 AM   #3

Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5

BrassMonkey is correct. When I teach tactical carbine classes, I tell my students to resist the temptation to hang all sorts of gadgets on their AR's. The equipment I suggest is an optic, back-up iron sights, a weapon light, and a quality sling. If your rifle is used for longer range work, then a scope, small bipod, and sling is sufficient. Anything else is just adding weight and distracting from the original design of this rifle being a LIGHTWEIGHT rifle. Just my.02 here.

Donnie

Active LE Sniper, AR15/M16 Armorer, Firearms Instructor, NRA Certified Instructor, Taser Instructor, Sniper Team Leader, and owner of www.bigrivertactical.com :D 狙击手

Old 06-11-2007, 04:58 PM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Quote: