6.5 Grendel AR

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > 6.5 Grendel AR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 08:17 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default 6.5 Grendel AR

I am a new member and even though some would call me an old-timer I am new to rifle shooting, have spent all my time involved with pistols and shotguns. (Ret LEO)

I am in the market for an AR type rifle to be used mainly for bench shooting, varmint and small game and SHTF.
After much research, i think I have found the cartridge for me. The 6.5 Grendel falls between the .223 and the .308 and while closer to the .308 have less recoil (about 1/2 from what I read).

I have looked at offering from Alexander Arms and Sabre Defense, both completed firearms and separate uppers and lowers.

Looking for opinions on the 6.5 Grendel in a suitable AR configuration. Comments and suggestions welcome

Thank you
Sarge595

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-10-2011, 09:15 PM   #2

Liked 3737 Times on 1825 Posts
Likes Given: 13270

We have quite a few members here that have an assortment of AR calibers but I don't recall anyone with a 6.5 Grendel. That's not to say you won't get any good replies though.

Would you mind running down your list of pro's/cons for the 6.5? I myself chose the .458SOCOM as a compliment to my AR15 and AR10. Although I have had my interest raised in some others - the .260 looked very interesting, as did the .338 lapua

If you do proceed please do a build thread for the rest of us to follow and drool over

Member: NRA GOA

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ