Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > 223/5.56 ammo options

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 05:59 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 182 Times on 148 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default 223/5.56 ammo options

Since I'm relatively new to the whole AR thing, I'm just looking for some thoughts on the better ammo options out there for different purposes. I have a DPMS 16" 556, so I'm really just looking for opinions and insights into various rounds...like what you like and for what purpose (distance, plinking, defense, hunting, etc).

Here's what I've got:

FMJ- I have mostly Federal Bulk, as well as some PMC Bronze and Rem UMC...all 55gr. This is all I've fired so far (500+ rds), with an average cost of 40 cents a round.

The stuff I now have various amounts of, but have yet to use:

Win/Fed/Rem 45-50gr JHPs (40-50 cents/rd)
Silver Bear zinc-plated case 62gr JHP (25 cents/rd)
Lake City (m855) 62gr penetrator (65 cents/rd)
Hornady Match 75gr BTHP (90 cents/rd)

A few things I'd love to hear some insight on:

1) What are your thoughts on non-brass ammo, such as Russian made Silver Bear?

2) How big of a factor is "tumbling" and how is this impacted by going from FMJ to JHP?

3) What do you consider some of the best values out there?

4) SHTF, you'd like your AR loaded with _____?

5) What do you like for precision shooting beyond 100yds?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-10-2010, 12:53 PM   #2

Liked 7551 Times on 3286 Posts
Likes Given: 1119