YUGO M72 RPK New Bolt...where can I buy a new one?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > YUGO M72 RPK New Bolt...where can I buy a new one?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2009, 04:35 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default YUGO M72 RPK New Bolt...where can I buy a new one?

I need to replace the bolt on my YUGO M72 RPK and want to find a good price. I know that Apex has them for $35, but I'd like to find a better deal. Thanks for your help!

__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 11-05-2009, 05:02 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
matt g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,885
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Default

$35 sounds pretty cheap. Does head space/timing need to be adjusted for the new bolt?

__________________

"'Did you ever wonder why we had to run for shelter when the promise of a brave new world unfurled beneath a clear blue sky? "
Roger Waters

Vote freedom, join the Libertarian Party.

matt g is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:56 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt g View Post
$35 sounds pretty cheap. Does head space/timing need to be adjusted for the new bolt?
You know, that's a good question. I'm not sure if the head space/timing needs to be adjusted for the new bolt. The old one is pitted, and I'd like to replace it. How do I find out if that's necessary?

Thanks.
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 06:48 PM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
matt g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,885
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I have no idea.

__________________

"'Did you ever wonder why we had to run for shelter when the promise of a brave new world unfurled beneath a clear blue sky? "
Roger Waters

Vote freedom, join the Libertarian Party.

matt g is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:56 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt g View Post
I have no idea.
I asked around and someone else said that any time you use a new bolt, that it should be checked for head space issues with that rifle's receiver. I just ordered it from Apex, so I guess I'll just find out later.


Thanks for your help.
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:58 PM   #6
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
matt g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,885
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Sorry I couldn't have helped out more.

__________________

"'Did you ever wonder why we had to run for shelter when the promise of a brave new world unfurled beneath a clear blue sky? "
Roger Waters

Vote freedom, join the Libertarian Party.

matt g is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt g View Post
Sorry I couldn't have helped out more.
Matt, I appreciate your help. I had an HK94 clone and there always seems to be a concern with the head spacing on those locking roller rifles. I always thought that AK's were the easiest to maintain and replace parts for. I get a queasy feeling when I hear about head spacing, but maybe I'm just being paranoid.
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:20 AM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default

you definatly need to check head space when you replace the bolt. it may be ok but chances are it will be off. there are several ways to adjust it. if its to loose the barrel can be pressed back (on a stamped reciver) and a oversize barrel pin hole and pin can be used. if its slightly tight you can frmove material from the bolt face or the lugs or push the barrel forward and use a over size pin and hole.

you absolutly need to check it however.

__________________
1BIGGUN is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:39 AM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BIGGUN View Post
you definatly need to check head space when you replace the bolt. it may be ok but chances are it will be off. there are several ways to adjust it. if its to loose the barrel can be pressed back (on a stamped reciver) and a oversize barrel pin hole and pin can be used. if its slightly tight you can frmove material from the bolt face or the lugs or push the barrel forward and use a over size pin and hole.

you absolutly need to check it however.
Cool. Thanks!
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Mauser Bolt Problem-Please help, bolt does not go back in! vikingxj General Rifle Discussion 15 11-27-2012 10:00 PM
Browning X-Bolt or A-Bolt WhiteWolf4 General Rifle Discussion 19 02-18-2012 01:42 AM
Yugo SKS Lupo AK & SKS Discussion 4 01-17-2009 07:40 AM
Got a Yugo SKS JiroZero713 AK & SKS Discussion 30 10-18-2008 02:21 AM
yugo sks.... friskydingo AK & SKS Discussion 9 09-09-2008 11:30 PM