SAR 1 (Romtehnica) opinions
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > SAR 1 (Romtehnica) opinions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Default SAR 1 (Romtehnica) opinions

Hi all,
I have limited experience with firearms (see http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f2/hi-all-54857/). I would like to have a rifle both for range shooting and home defense (much less likely usage here but you just never know).
Over here (italy) we have access to original foreign arms (semi-auto only of course). My initial orientation was towards a 7.63x39 saiga (izhmash) @880$ but recently i found an intriguing offer for a Romtehnica SAR 1 with all accessories as in pic (excluding optics) @1000$.
Now I know these are crazy prices for you US guys but that's how the ball rolls over here smaller market i guess.
I don't mind spending a little more for a better weapon, i don't plan to have more than one rifle, so that one had better be good.
The question is: how good are SARs? I read some favourable comments but how do they compare to Saigas? (reliability and accuracy wise)
And before you ask "why not an AR?" i'll tell you here they are even more ridiculously overpriced and are allowed mags of 5 rounds max only (10 for AKs).

Kind regards

Last edited by _winer_; 01-08-2012 at 10:34 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-09-2012, 03:56 AM   #2

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 1