Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AK & SKS Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   poll thinking of getting a maadi ak...any pros and cons? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/poll-thinking-getting-maadi-ak-any-pros-cons-22151/)

failure_drill 01-14-2010 02:27 AM

poll thinking of getting a maadi ak...any pros and cons?

so i got an offer for a maadi ak. im new to the ak rifle (i just got a hold of a romanian one recently). i have in handled it, shot it when i was in theater. never really took it apart. i know there are many variants of the ak floating around. romanian, yugoslavian, chinese etc. this the first time encountering a maadi. as far as its look the maadi stock with the thumbhole has been replaced. i dont know too much about it so here i am asking away. it is in good overall condition, though i havent fired it yet, which i will do before handing over the cash for it. so basically do you guys think i should go for it? its a maadi ak 47 7.62. good condition. 400 bucks....is this a good deal? any input would help

diggsbakes 01-15-2010 09:24 PM

Since you have the option of shooting it first, (which is great by the way) I'd run a few different mags through it (at least 100 rounds) and use your best judgment.

I've never had a Maadi, but have handled them and never experienced a problem regarding function. They are said to be made on actual Russian equipment. Whether or not that matters, I don't know. . . but I like the finish on the ones I've seen and $400 isn't bad. Just be sure to inspect the bore, mag fit (for looseness) and bolt carrier as those are three easy ways to estimate amount of previous usage.

As I always say:

Buy it!!!

canebrake 01-15-2010 09:34 PM

Is it a pre-ban imported by Styer? 1500 came in with the full auto bolt carriers in them.

They are made in Ciro on actual ruski tooling.