Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > Next AK options (input please!)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default Next AK options (input please!)

OK. So I'm in the market for at least 2 new AK variants and would like some feedback from the boys on this.

1. I've been considering a Lancaster build for several months. I've shot them recently and like them. They are beautiful, genuine, reliable and accurate. That said, I've recently got a couple Romanians WASR 10/63 shooting pretty accurate and smooth after about $100 worth of internals, replacement sights and practice.

The difference in base price is right about $200 Lancaster being the more expensive, but the baseline Romy would need $100 to get it where I'll need it.

2. I know its been asked before, (probably even by me) but 7.62 or 5.45? Both calibers are available from Lancaster or various surplus stores for the same price variance I listed above. I'm pretty well loaded with 7.62 mags and ammo, but the 5.45 is appealing to me because it's so cheap, faster, accurate, easier to pack/move and supposedly more deadly. The downside is that there are limited to no reloading capabilities.

3. For the second (or third) I would like a longer range semi. The Romanian PSL-54C or other Dragnov variant has been appealing to me. The ammo is cheap and available, but I have limited experience with this weapon. What is a practical expectation for range and accuracy? Can optics be improved?

The main goal in all of this is to have reliable weapons that I'm already familiar and experienced with, able to troubleshoot/repair and obtain a lifetime supply of mags and ammo for reasonable $$$.

Help me make up my mind boys.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!