Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AK & SKS Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   Just curious..... (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/just-curious-65278/)

NM-LEO 05-28-2012 04:37 AM

Just curious.....

This is by no means trying to start a war, but I've had this question burning in my mind for quite a while:

How many of you that own AKs, Dragunovs, or SKS weapons are combat veterans that have seen the business end of them? And if you truly have, WHY ON EARTH own one??

MikeJK 05-28-2012 04:42 AM

This has been covered here. I'm a combat vet/CIB holder w/ the 10th MNT. and have owned a few AK varients.

I don't see why being on the business end of one would effect anything. They are a capable rifle.

mudpupp 05-28-2012 04:50 AM

When I was in the service the cross trained us to use these weapons in case we found ourselves having them as our only option should our battle weapon become unusable.

This gives you an intimate relationship with them that sometimes turns into a love affair.

Thankfully I was immune to their wiles, and still love American made weapons only.

However, I understand the why!

NM-LEO 05-28-2012 04:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mudpupp
When I was in the service the cross trained us to use these weapons in case we found ourselves having them as our only option should our battle weapon become unusable.

This gives you an intimate relationship with them that sometimes turns into a love affair.

Thankfully I was immune to their wiles, and still love American made weapons only.

Yeah when I was in I was trained on them too, I just never have been interested in em.

I guess maybe after spending 52 months deployed all over sorts made me hate them. As far as capability, they have it, but I was just wondering.... Basically wanted to see how many vets own them

rjd3282 05-28-2012 08:05 AM

Quote: