In a Dillemma
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > In a Dillemma

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default In a Dillemma

I am in a bit of a tight spot right now. I currently own a Bushmaster xm15-e2s and I love the weapon. It is a tack driver, has low recoil and is a weapon platform I have a lot of experience with. However, I looked at the price of ammo recently and with my budget, I cannot afford to shoot this weapon anymore.

So I looked into getting an AK style rifle. From what I remember, they used to be around $500-600 new. I figured if I sold the AR I could just trade it in for a Kalashnikov. WHAT HAPPENED!?!?! Suddenly WASRs are worth $700-800? The 7.62x39 is still way cheaper than any .223 I've found but golly that just seems ridiculous to pay that much for an AK.

What are your suggestions? Should I dump the AR and get an AK or is it not worth selling my Bushmaster for $750 and then trying to pick up an AK? What rifle would you recommend for my price range? Is it worth the trade? I want to have one of these rifles because I like having the high magazine capacity and I also have an inkling they will be banned in my lifetime.

"I only regret I have but one life to lose for my country" Nathan Hale

Amendment 2 - Right to Bear Arms. Ratified 12/15/1791. Note

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.