Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AK & SKS Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   In a Dillemma (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/dillemma-96488/)

easterner123 09-03-2013 04:03 PM

In a Dillemma

I am in a bit of a tight spot right now. I currently own a Bushmaster xm15-e2s and I love the weapon. It is a tack driver, has low recoil and is a weapon platform I have a lot of experience with. However, I looked at the price of ammo recently and with my budget, I cannot afford to shoot this weapon anymore.

So I looked into getting an AK style rifle. From what I remember, they used to be around $500-600 new. I figured if I sold the AR I could just trade it in for a Kalashnikov. WHAT HAPPENED!?!?! Suddenly WASRs are worth $700-800? The 7.62x39 is still way cheaper than any .223 I've found but golly that just seems ridiculous to pay that much for an AK.

What are your suggestions? Should I dump the AR and get an AK or is it not worth selling my Bushmaster for $750 and then trying to pick up an AK? What rifle would you recommend for my price range? Is it worth the trade? I want to have one of these rifles because I like having the high magazine capacity and I also have an inkling they will be banned in my lifetime.

mountainman13 09-03-2013 04:15 PM

Keep the ar and save up money.

NC1760 09-03-2013 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mountainman13 (Post 1356682)
Keep the ar and save up money.