Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AK & SKS Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   Corrosive vs. Non Corrosive? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/corrosive-vs-non-corrosive-58270/)

fupuk 02-19-2012 11:22 PM

I figured this would be a better place to post this question rather than in the ammo section. But im new to the "Ak" scene and ive been looking at ammo and found a deal on 1200 brass cased rounds for $175 but it said that it was corrosive and im wondering what the negetives are to shooting this ammo? Im planning on getting this for range practice because my range dont allow steel cased ammo. Is there a long term problem with using corrosive ammo and is just being cleaned after i shoot it good enough? But im also planning on getting russian surplus ammo that is sealed in a tin for stock of ammo just to have it on hand for a rainy day that is steel cased.

Thanks.

dragunovsks 02-20-2012 12:30 AM

Just clean your rifle as soon as possible after shooting and you shouldnt have any trouble with corrosive ammo. Cheap corrosive soviet bloc ammo is all i shoot in my sks, which fires the same round as the ak and ive never had any trouble. Im anal about keeping my firearms clean and always clean as soon as im done shooting.

c3shooter 02-20-2012 12:33 AM

Pull up a log, and have a seat. Corrosive has to do with primers.

Originally, primers were a bit of fulminate of mercury. Known as mercuric primers, the mercury tended to react with the brass over a period of time when sitting, and at once when shot. The amalgam formed would cause the brass to become brittle. This was replaced with a primer based on potassium chlorate.