Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AK & SKS Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   ak vs sks (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f19/ak-vs-sks-29793/)

lostchild 07-28-2010 08:59 PM

ak vs sks

Hi I'm very new to this type of firearm what is the difference between the two? Does one have any advantage over the other? All my other firearms are single shot, and want to go to a semiauto and don't know what to choose. Thanks in advance..... lost

orangello 07-28-2010 09:07 PM

I like my SKS quite a bit. It has been equipped with detachable 20 round magazines & a lighter weight stock with an adjustable-length buttstock. It seems to be a bit more accurate than my buddy's WASR-10 (semi-auto AK-type rifle). My buddy's WASR looks a bit more tacticool & is a little lighter weight. His magazines are a tiny bit simpler to use and to eject & replace (no duckbill).

They do use the same ammo; which is convenient.

To me, the AK-type is more fun for just plinking while the SKS is better for target practice. The AK-type would probably be easier to handle inside a building, home defense-wise. I would also feel MUCH more comfortable taking the SKS deer hunting, mostly due to its appearance.

canebrake 07-28-2010 09:15 PM

Take it from someone who was once an AK 'fan boy', save a few more bucks and get an AR. Or better yet, build one. And buy my AK!

crockett007 07-30-2010 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lostchild (Post 321860)
Hi I'm very new to this type of firearm what is the difference between the two? Does one have any advantage over the other? All my other firearms are single shot, and want to go to a semiauto and don't know what to choose. Thanks in advance..... lost