Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > AK-74 jams alot.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 04:53 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default AK-74 jams alot.

Sorry if this has been asked but I just hate searching for answers. I recently bought myself an AK-74. I bought it off of a friend of mine. He mentioned that it jammed once in a while, but after I bought it and took it out I noticed that "once in a while" meant every other round. Is there a common problem that would cause this. It is stovepiping most of time but sometimes the casing works it's way under the whole bolt assembly or sometimes off to the wrong side. I am by no means an expert with this thing and don't really know technical terms. With that said. I was thinking maybe the part towards the rear that holds the round in front of the firing pin may not be rotating quick enough for the casing to strike the ejector pin( the little piece of steel on the left hand inside of the frame) hard enough or flush enough to eject the casing. The only other thing I could think of is that I am using army surplus rounds that I got with the gun. I think he said that they are 50 or even 52 grain. That seems like a light powder load for this round. Is it possible that the round isn't throwing the slide back far enough to eject the casing right. If this where the case though you would think that the hammer wouldn't be resetting. Could somebody give some advice? I got about 15 rounds straight out of it at the most before it would jam, but usually it's every third or every other casing that jams. I got six clips and 600 rounds of ammo with the ak and the gun has a folding stock on it too. I only paid 350 dollars so if I have to replace something it would be still be worth it. Any help out there for me?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!