922r as it relates to my MISR - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AK & SKS Discussion > 922r as it relates to my MISR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 05:33 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1060 Times on 746 Posts
Likes Given: 1060

It's so hard to say. It's hard to prove what country manufactured the parts. Usually the US parts are stamped US but not always. And maybe your rifle is exempt from 922r if it was imported before the 1989 law. So many things we don't know. And you're not getting any help from the seller or shop you bought it from?

I'm no lawyer but the odds are no one's going to bother you about this. And it's a nice rifle you'd hate to bubba up. But if the gun doubled at the range, who knows who's looking. Maybe the best bet is to use US made magazines to gain 3 US parts. With your muzzle you may only need two more parts or maybe three. If you bought a Tapco trigger, disconnector and hammer you'd have 3 more US parts and be legal whether the muzzle counts or not. You might want to save the originals just in case for collector value. The trigger group is not that hard to install, BTW.

Anyway, below is a link to more info on the subject: the AK is considered to have 16 major parts and no more than 10 can be foreign made which is how we come up with needing 6 US parts if you have a threaded muzzle. If not threaded (or if a muzzle nut is welded on the threads) then it's 5. My AK did have the muzzle nut and I cut through the weld thus exposing the threads. I put on a US made muzzle device and had 5 other US parts so it is legal (even if I use comblock surplus magazines).

http://www.tapco.com/section922r/

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Last edited by Quentin; 07-17-2012 at 05:42 AM.