Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Taurus Forum > Which handgun is the best for self defence

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Which handgun is the best for self defence

Hi i'm very new to guns and would like to know which one is the best? Can anyone help me please

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-15-2013, 03:06 PM   #2

Liked 9193 Times on 5052 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Whatever you shoot best, and WILL carry (a gun is no good if you don't have it), and (here's an opinion, and nothing but an opinion) of a caliber at least 9MM or up. I prefer "up".

Must be reliable, and most currently made modern guns are.

Go shopping man!

Old 05-15-2013, 03:14 PM   #3

Liked 163 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Here we go again. Lol.

Self defense at home? Is it going to be a carry concealed weapon (ccw)?

Different guns for different purposes you see.

Find a weapons range and get training in safety and handling. Hopefully they rent handguns so that you may try different ones and find the one that fits you.

Here at FTF you will find a lot of knowledge and experience but also a lot of opinions as to the best handgun for any given purpose. Honestly, the best gun for me may not be the best for you.

Welcome to FTF. Enjoy and always be safe.

Old 05-15-2013, 03:33 PM   #4

I trying to decide between pt917, pt 809 and cz75 duty and i know the pt917 and 809 is evenly balanced in weight but czduty's weight is mostly in the slide but what i want to know is how many rounds can you shoot without it jamming