Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Vented Barrel VS Muzzle Brake

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Vented Barrel VS Muzzle Brake

I have a H&R Handi Rifle S&W 500 Mag witch would be more effective at reducing recoil?

forumrunner_20130423_221142.jpg

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-24-2013, 03:57 AM   #2

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts

I'm not an expert, but in my experience it seems like a "vented barrel" is intended for recoil reduction & a muzzle break is for flash reduction. Reduced recoil may be a side effect of the break, but not it's original purpose

Old 04-24-2013, 04:10 AM   #3
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Liked 20061 Times on 11410 Posts
Likes Given: 50601

another alterantive might be to check out some of the stock recoil reduction devices. to port the barrel is more than just drilling some holes. it has to be done properly to work and be effective. not the type of job for a DIYer.

check out Brownell's or MidwayUSA for stock recoil reduction devices. these you might be able to install yourself.

Old 04-24-2013, 12:28 PM   #4

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BULLET9992 View Post
I'm not an expert, but in my experience it seems like a "vented barrel" is intended for recoil reduction & a muzzle break is for flash reduction. Reduced recoil may be a side effect of the break, but not it's original purpose