Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Totally Lost on Rifles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 07:20 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Totally Lost on Rifles

Hello,

New member here. Relatively new to firearms. I grew up in suburban NJ, so I didn't have exposure to target shooting or hunting outside of BoyScout camp. I consider the 2nd amendment one of the most important (that's why it's #2) rights of an American. I would even venture to say that it is good civic behavior to be responsible and comfortable with firearms.

I currently live in the great state of VA. I purchased my first pistol 2 years ago, a Sig 226 in 9mm. I love shooting it when I have the time to hit up the range. Now I'd like to purchase a rifle, but I'm not well informed. I'm thinking of taking an NRA approved basic rifle course at the local IWLA.

Being that I'm a newbie, what would you recommend? Cost is not the biggest issue. I want something that is high quality and will last for generations. I'd mostly use it for target shooting, but it definitely needs to be SHTF approved. That is, I want something:
1) in a common (NATO) caliber (556 or 762)
2) common model or compatible/modular for parts

My early research leads me to something like an M1A or AR-15. FYI, I purchased my pistol on the web (gunbroker) due to the huge savings. However, rifles seem to have a lot more customization options/accessories, so I'm not sure if I should go to the local store and establish a relationship, or shop online again.

Suggestions?

Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here