Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Rifle Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   talk calibers with me (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/talk-calibers-me-3050/)

derek33 01-17-2008 09:11 PM

talk calibers with me

Good evening.

My name is derek, Im 20 years old and im new to firearms. a couple years ago my dad took me to our local range to shoot his fathers old M1 carbine and i was hooked. This past summer i bought (my money, fathers legal ownership) a ruger p345 and i love going to the range as often as possible. Im counting the days untill im 21 so i can get my license.

anyway.

I've been watching random youtube videos regarding firearms and rifles, and i just had a question about their bullets. I see that m4's and m16's and such use a bullet called the 5.56mm and the new barrett rifle uses a 6.8mm. whatever his name is on the show "future weapons" talks about how powerful this 6.8mm round is.

where im confused, is you can get a bigger round in a pistol (9mm) not even to mention a .45. how are these "tiny" rifle rounds so much more powerful then a .45 in a pistol?

also, i recently shot a beretta cx4 which i noticed used a standard pistol .45 round which to me was odd. why a pistol round out of a "rifle"? i did like the gun, it was fun and easy to shoot, accurate as well. how does a cx4 stand up to an AR platform firearm?

Thanks,

Derek

robocop10mm 01-17-2008 10:22 PM

Velocity. Pistols are usually in the 800-1200 fps range with the .357 mag reaching near 1500. Rifles are 2-3 times faster. When you get supersonic or even Mach 3 the effects on fluids (bodies, flesh) become exponentially more catastrophic. A .308 150 gr bullet at near 3000 fps is FAR more devastating than a .357 158 gr bullet at 1500 fps.

jeepejeep 01-18-2008 12:35 AM