some burning newb questions
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > some burning newb questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2010, 01:45 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default some burning newb questions

I'm fairly new to the gun world and seeking assistance in making a decision.

I'm looking to strategically build my arsenal of fun toys from ZERO to 2 here in a short while. handgun and rifle combo. Pretty sure I'm going 9mm Springfield XDM or a Kimber Pro Carry II 9mm.

So basically I'm looking for a rifle that will mainly suit these needs (mostly plinking)

1.) be more fun to shoot than one with .22LR ammo
2.) not be that expensive to shoot (looking for advice on ammo)
3.) use a sort of universal Round (something that is used in multiple types of guns, example .223 or 357 Magnum.)
4.) be remotely reliable
5.) under $600 range
6.) I like iron sites and want some to start out with to learn the gun (most ranges around me probably aren't greater than 100yards)
7.) want ability to mount a scope to for future.
8.) not big into hunting but might be once I buy a nice rifle!
9.) I'm an Engineer so I like something that is versatile
10.) willing to sacrifice overly versatile for something simple that could be a family hand-me-down.
11.) can you hunt anything with a 22 magnum?

Ideas please

I came accross the Kel Tec SU-16CA. Looks like a good option. Is there similar gun that shoots a cheaper round?

I also like the idea of a Henry repeater in a 30-30 but yet again, looking for input.

Last edited by berny2435; 07-07-2010 at 01:49 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.