Sighting in a Rifle/Scope
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Sighting in a Rifle/Scope

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2010, 03:00 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 177 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Default Sighting in a Rifle/Scope

I have been shooting rifles,and rifles with scopes for just about 20 years now,but I have never actually sighted in a scope much more than on .22's.I want to sight in my .444 marlin for 100 yards and I have a few questions.First,I got the manufacturer's specs on the ammo that I want to use,and it shows the bullet path,and more or less it looks like the bullet starts out and raises up slow then comes down like a stone after 100 yards.I have been reading that I need to start out at 25 yards and then move on to 100 yards.I am getting a bore laser,and the specs say that the bullet path is 0.39" low@ 25 yards when trying for a 100 yard sight in,so am I supposed to keep the crosshairs always on dead center@25 yards and try to put the holes always straight right and left and I WANT the holes to be always .0.39" low even when my crosshairs are on center,and then I want the holes to be in the bullseye@100 yards when I put the crosshairs center@100 yards?

S&W 915 9mm
Mossberg 500 Mariner 12ga
1945 Win 94
Ruger MKIII 22/45 4"
Savage MK II
Ruger SP101 .357
Kung-Fu Moves

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-27-2010, 03:13 PM   #2

Liked 4885 Times on 2368 Posts
Likes Given: 1524

Unless your trying to sight in with 6 rounds or less, your putting way too much thought into this.