rifle issues
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > rifle issues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2011, 03:34 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default rifle issues

I found a remington 700 30.06 with a scope for 250 bucks at a gunshow. I may be a terrable shot I may lack the skill to shoot well. But my groupings are about 4 inches at 100 yards, this is terrable even for a beginner to my understanding. I don't get the practiice I would like and after ten rounds I am not even on the paper any more, could there be something wrong with the rifle or is it more likely the shooter, I am a beginner.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-13-2011, 03:39 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1730 Times on 899 Posts
Likes Given: 3663

Probably a scope problem.

Old 05-13-2011, 03:40 AM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1176 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 2978

Four inches at 100 yards is pretty decent shooting for a person who doesn't shoot regularly. Don't beat yourself up or get frustrated. It just takes practice. Four inches at 100 yards will put venison on the table.

BTW, after a number of shots, the barrel heats up and accuracy can be degraded. It could also be that you are flinching in anticipation of the recoil.