Remington 742
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Rifle Discussion > Remington 742

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2008, 08:40 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Remington 742

Hey all. Hopefully someone can help me out on here. I have a Remington 742 Woodsmaster probably about 30 years old. It is a .308 with the short carbine barrel. I love this little gun, it shoots great and it small and easy to carry around the woods. Well, its been acting up a lot so it's been in the closet for about two years since I last shot it. It's got two issues with it actually:

1: The screw that holds the forearm stock on is stripped. Last time I shot it the stock came off and the scope hit me in the forehead, ouch. I am actually unsure if it's the screw or the piece on the barrel that's stripped.

2: It doesn't eject properly. About every other round doesn't eject all the way and gets jammed in the action. I have noticed a hairline crack in one of the sliding parts(not sure of its name). I think the crack causes it to get stuck and not go all the way back, but I don't know for sure.

I brought the gun to a couple of local gun shops and they say the gun is a lost cause and nothing can be done. I tried to call Remington today to no avail. Does anyone know for sure if it's a lost cause or should I try another gunsmith? Any recommendations for a good gunsmith in southeast Louisiana? Also, someone told me I could send it back to Remington and get a new gun for a discounted price. Do they even make a gun comparable with the short barrel? I really like this gun so I just don't want to give up on it yet.

Thanks Alot,

Erik

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.